Just do stuff… wisdom from Amy

One of my library school friends, Amy, posted on her meteoric success in the library world.

Her secret? Ask! Do stuff!

From my side of things, I was interested in Linux, so I just started installing it on my school laptop.

I screwed up my bootloader a few times, succeeded in crashing my router, hacked a Xbox, fried a few hard drives, installed Apache, a CMS and Koha on my laptop and did some blogging.

I just did stuff… and it was the side projects I did while I was in library school that got me the position I’m in right now.

So, let me echo Amy’s advice. Just do stuff. Ask about conferences. Install Linux. Do an independent study. Talk to experts. Be on Twitter, Facebook and LinkedIn and participate in the communities there. Answer questions.

Build a network.

Leave a Reply

