SSHFS for fileshareing between Linux machines

It’s rare that I find a piece of software so good that it deserves an unconditional recommendation. I recently had a situation where I needed to share a folder across a local network between two Linux machines. My go-to software for this is usually Samba, a linux implementation of Windows File Sharing. However, with a new version of Xubuntu on a very, very old laptop I’m using for a media server, I couldn’t get the usual tricks with Samaba I usually use to work.

I stripped Samba off the media server and tried out SSHFS, a network file share based on SSH. Since SSH is built into all the distributions of Linux I use, setting it up was trivial and now I can easily stream content from the media server to the TV computer.

http://fuse.sourceforge.net/sshfs.html

 

Leave a comment